Banner by ~ Ice Princess Silky

National Novel Writing Month 2014

RockinRarity

I did see a thread for the 2013 year, but I think that since it's about time to start talking about 2014.

How many of you will be participating in National Novel Writing Month this year? How many of you are going to try to write a novel - start to finish - during the month of November?

Have you participated in a NaNoWriMo in the past? Did you finish? Why or why not?

Is NaNoWriMo something that you have been thinking of doing for a while? What makes you want to try it? What fears do you have in participating? Are you going to have enough time to dedicated writing for at least an hour or two per day throughout the month?

I have never done NaNoWriMo before, but I would like to very much this year. I already have a novel idea picked out, and I have been doing a little bit of pre-writing and planning. I was a creative writing major in college and I have always wanted to write this book, and I think that NaNoWriMo is a way for me to discipline myself and just do it. I'm the kind of person who needs outside intervention/rules in order to motivate myself, so something like NaNoWriMo is a challenge that I can at least attempt to succeed in.

I have a friend who did it last year, and she "won," meaning that she exceeded the word count challenge. My brother-in-law has expressed interest in participating this year as well but I am not sure if he will do it - we will see.

If anyone interested is signed up on NaNoWriMo's website, you can add me as a writing buddy. Here is my author profile

It would be great if those of us who wish to participate can all support and encourage each other this November. :D

• Brohoof 5

This is actually a great idea. I was told about this a few years back but I forgot it existed until now.

I'm not sure if I'll participate, because I'm not good at forming a focused idea that would fill a novel-length volume, but I wouldn't mind seeing what other people write.