Banner by ~ Ice Princess Silky

My first ever attempt in Paint Tool SAI

akita-ken

As some might know, I'm primarily a vector artist and do my stuff in Illustrator, but I've expressed my interest in learning how to draw in raster on more than one occasion. I've heard a lot of good things about Paint Tool SAI so naturally I went for that first, add to the fact that from playing around with it a couple of times I found it to be much more 'drawing-oriented' than Photoshop. (Not to say that Ps is a bad tool for drawing, the learning curve is just much higher)

First thoughts:

(Okay I'll put this in a spoiler cuz I've begun my essay mode :P)

- It's way more difficult to draw in raster as compared to vector. 

If I'm drawing vector, for simple OCs with no background and a pose from a reference picture taken from the show, I usually take about an hour or two to draw the lineart and and then another hour or two to ink in the fills. For this picture it took me a good entire day plus a couple of hours to add the finishing touches.

- You definitely need to do a sketch first before importing it into SAI and drawing over it.

I've drawn enough ponies in vector to be able to freehand most of the time in Illustrator, but I found it close to impossible to do this in SAI. The fact that I did not have the freedom to go back and delete or edit lines after drawing them meant that I needed to have something to refer very closely to in order to get clean lines. I did have quite a bit of experience with pencil and paper before getting into vector art about a year ago, so getting down a very rough sketch on a piece paper took little more than half an hour to do, which I promptly took a photo of (you don't really need the quality of a scan for reference) and imported into SAI.

Turn that stabilizer on!!!