Banner by ~ Ice Princess Silky

Pony Music Getting Copyright Claims and Dealing with such Claims

Carbon Maestro

(edited)

More of the same story is covered on EQD, but as a musician myself, let me tell you what you be aware of when you're posting a youtube video on music.

img-2752824-1-tumblr_n7blngL0db1rev0cmo1

Bascially, youtube's automated program detects visual and audio content automatically for content ID. In this case, only vectors similar to the style of MLP:FiM's vectors or pony music will raise the flag of content ID. It's honestly been going on for some of the pony animations, it's just that it hasn't been reported by the animators themselves.

But let me make it clear: Hasbro isn't trying to shut down the fandom with copyright claims.

First of all, if you want to make a youtube video, you'll want to make sure the audio and visual part of your video has the following:

• Permission from the artist or musician OR you own these parts.
  • Must not resemble the show to the point where it could be mistaken for the show
  • Disclaimers aren't enough. You need permission.
  • Permission, permission, permission!

It seems to be the case that anything that is mistaken for the show will be C&D'd, so the Discord remix by the Living Tombstone is pretty much safe because the artwork and audio is so different from the show's, no one is going to mistake it as such.

Second, this is more of a Youtube content ID issue rather than a Hasbro issue. This has been going on for months in the gaming community on Let's Play gamers, so it is only a matter of time before it gets to the audio as well. It's rather annoying that this fandom has decided that any time something bad happens, it must be Hasbro, when Youtube and by extension Google has been screwing around with this issue in a far more malicious manner.

Lastly, I'll share with you an animation that used to be on my channel (Now taken down for reasons below).