Banner by ~ Ice Princess Silky

Can you drive a manual transmission (stick shift)

SolidTwilight

So my last 3 cars (well trucks) have had a manual transmission and I have been driving stick for about 6 years now. I really like it. it give me somthing to do other then just hit the gas and I don't like things being done for me. I think I will always get a stander car for the rest of my life. I am one of those people that loves to touch things so it keeps my hands entertained. also it is really fun when I am mad to rip through the gears. On a funny side note I learned to dive stick on my friends 1967 VW bug. the very same car that my dad and most people his age learned to drive stick with. also I did not stall once the first time I drove it for 5 or 10 minutes.

the stick shift cars I have owned: (still have both jeeps)

1994 dodge dakota

1944 Willys-Overland MB (WWII Jeep)

2009 Jeep wrangler unlimited

I just thought of part of Wreck it Ralph

Edited by SolidTwilight
  • Brohoof 1

I tried to learn how to drive a stick shift once, it was hard but it was kinda fun.  :P  I hated stopping on a hill and rolling backwards when I tried to start up again, it's scary  :o

I prefer two pedals thank you very much.

The tl;dr version is yes. I had to do a favor for a friend that involved driving his soon-to-be car for him. I did well enough to not look like a complete buffoon, but there's room for improvement. It's a skill I want to work on improving in the future, too.