Banner by ~ Ice Princess Silky

Does bad grammar and spelling annoy you? Why or why not?

Lato

129 users have voted

1. 1. Does bad grammar/ and spelling annoy you?

• Yes
    • No

Usually, when people don't know how to spell a word, I am not too fussed. But when people don't know the difference between "your" and "you're" is just unbelievable. When I am texting my 18 year old brother, I think I am talking to a 5 year old who doesn't even know how to communicate properly!

I don't mind text speak when I'm talking to my friend, but when it's on a forum or social networking then I have no idea what people are saying.

Also this:

1395254402302462.jpg

I thought it was pretty funny :P

Edited by Lato
  • Brohoof 19

I don't really mind so much because i'm just learning english and I make mistakes, but I agree that not knowing the difference between "your" and "you're" is unbelievable. In spanish (my native language) I get angry because of some usual but stupid mistakes, like not knowing the difference between "a ver" and "haber", which have a totally different meaning.

• Brohoof 2

Depends. I recognise a lot of people on the Internet did not have English as their first language (and even if you did its still filled with exceptions, rules, and more rules). So I understand getting a word spelled wrong. I usually don't even correct it because it really does take away from the discussion. Although if I'm asked for help, I do give it. 

If they are British, American, Canadian, Australian, etc. then I simply assume they're quite young in years, joking/trolling, or simply don't know, and don't really think it's worth either of our time to correct it.