Crest

Any Fellow Pianists Out There?

I've been taking piano lessons for about a year now, and something's been irking me... How do people improvise?! 

It baffles me to know end that people can just sit down in front of their instrument and just... Play. I mean, I can sit down at my piano, look at my sheet music, and start playing. But how do you guys manage do just make up stuff on the fly like that? Do you just play a chord, and start pressing keys that kinda fit? Are you all secretly super computers that can make up these melodies whenever? Do you shove peanut butter up your nose and magically receive the gift of music?!?! ...Yeah... Please reply. :/

I've been playing piano for two years now.

Improvisation is just picking a scale and playing something with that scale. A key to improvisation is to keep the same rhythm. Play as many different notes as you want in any octave but keep the same rhythm for it to sound normal.

• Brohoof 1

Iv'e been playing piano for about six or seven years now. I do improvise a bit, but I am not that good at it. I mostly just play songs i have learned myself.

• Brohoof 1

How do people improvise?!

Learn about and practice utilizing pentatonic scales:

Edited by NLR Information Minister
  • Brohoof 1

I've been playing since I was 7 (so 14 years?), and for me, improvisation came from not wanting to do my piano homework. My teacher was cool with it, so instead of doing the songs in the book 100% like they were supposed to be done, I usually played them with added bits, or sometimes in a different genre (playing a christmas or classical song with jazz rhythm and structure). It honestly really screwed me over when I joined marching band and played synth in it; I was so used to improvising that I hadn't really cared much for learning how to read all the intricacies of sheet music, so I had a tough time keeping up with others when we were learning our parts for the first time.