Banner by ~ Ice Princess Silky

technology Questions for programmers

pocketshotgun

Hello! so recently I have been wanting to learn C++, I have some prior programming knowledge and I know the basis how things work in a program.

I think that if I understand how it works I will be able to learn better. So I have a few questions.

If anyone could do their best to answer that would be great!

1. what does this mean?

int main(int nNumberofArgs, char*pszArgs[])

2. What do these mean?

cin.ignore(10, '\n');
    cin.get();
    return 0;

Thanks for any help! I'll probably have further question in the future.
  • Brohoof 2

I'm not very vamiliar with C++ but I know a bit of C# which is quite similar, however I'd suggest you to google your questions :P

int main()

Is the main function which is called each time you run your program. int main() means that it returns an int and therefore needs a number. Some functions doesn't need to return anything and look like void myfunction(), however the main one must always return an integer.

int nNumberofArgs, char*pszArgs[]

These are the arguments for the function, they're the ones that decide what needs to be passed to the function in order for it to run. These arguments requires that an int and a char array is passed to the function. I'm not really sure what the star behind char is, it's probably a C++ thing which you'll have to look up for yourself.

cin.ignore(10, '\n'); cin.get(); return 0;

cin is a bit of code that allows you to grab user input and put it in an object. cin.ignore is basically what it says, it ignores certain characters. In your case it will ignore up to 10 characters of user input as well as the new line character (enter) ( \n , the two '' just show that \n is a char.) Again, I'm not an expert in C++ but I'm guessing that cin.get() just gets and stores the user input. You could probably type an argument inside the parenthesis.

return;