Banner by ~ Ice Princess Silky

I want some encouragement.

Odyssey

(edited)

I'm not going to stick around here for too long, but I really want your guy's help -- what can I do to stop treating my own art like it's garbage?

I've been bullied a lot in general, but one thing that has been happening more recently is that people are making fun of me for the stuff I draw. Usually I would ignore this, but groups of people have been doing stuff like reposting my work without my permission and talking about why it's bad. Meanwhile, I see other artists who use similar techniques as me, and they get all of the love and the praise. Not that I'm saying that I'm a better artist than them, but I only mention this because stuff like this happens to me far too often. Pretty much whatever I do will screw up for me very badly.

Not only this, but I also have a really, really bad habit of comparing myself to other artists. I want to be like artists that I love, but the problem is that I never push my boundaries and learn new things. I still feel like my art is the same as it was in 2012.

So with all of that said, what do you think? I could really use the encouraging words, because the more people bully me the more I don't even want to make art anymore.

Edited by Odyssey
  • Brohoof 1

You really ought to look at your earliest work, like take a long hard look at them. You'll see how far you've come. No matter how crap you think your art is, it is YOUR art, no one else can do that. Styles can often be similar and I personally think popularity boosts it even if someone else is doing the same thing :/ you could perfect your own style, it is yours and yours alone.  I mean I haven't done too well with my art myself but it's always good to reflect on your own achievements without any external input. Comparing yourself to others is really bad for morale, I do that too. I think these lines from Desiderata sums it up quite nicely:

'If you compare yourself with others,