Register now to remove this ad.

Hi! I'm new here and I wanted to start making pony stuff like apps, games and animations, but I don't know where to start or what programs to use! If you could help me out, I'd really really love that! Thanks lots!  :umad: 

As an indie game developer, I could share few thoughts with you regarding some programs, where games could be made. It all depends on what exactly you're looking for.  ;)

• Brohoof 1

I'm kinda just looking around to mess around with a program until I get a feel for it and actually get an idea for what to make. But I'm fine with anything as long as its free tbh?

Well, there are different ways to approach that.

If you know some scripting languages, you can just write the game just like you'd like it to be.

There are also programs, that make that process more automatic for you.

So if you're looking for making an RPG, then there is software that focuses on that and allows you to use an editor to easily configure things around.

There are also more professional programs, so it really depends on your experience and what type of game you want to make as to not search far, 2D and 3D games are almost totally different things.

But from what you've said, I think that giving Game Maker: Studio a try wouldn't be a bad idea. It is capable of doing various types of games ~ puzzles, platformers, RPG etc..

It supports both, drag&drop functions as well as direct scripting things. With some tutorials, you'd be able to make some games and take first steps into scriptwriting.

Anyway, the programs I've used/I'm using aren't free, though Game Maker has a free version, where you can make games normally, but just can't export them and share with the others without buying a licence first.  :P

Edited by Rikifive

Well, there are different ways to approach that.

If you know some scripting languages, you can just write the game just like you'd like it to be.

There are also programs, that make that process more automatic for you.