Banner by ~ Ice Princess Silky

Fanfic idea

ggg-2

It's Father's Day in Equestria, and Shining Armor......isn't having the best time. First he falls out of bed. Then he drops half his breakfast on the dining room floor and has an unusually stressful day at work. And to top it all off, Cadance is called to attend a princess summit with Celestia Luna and Twilight, leaving him to foalsit Flurry Heart by himself. But he soon gets the best Father's Day gift he could imagine to make it all worthwhile: his daughter's first word.

• 3 weeks later...

If you write it be sure to not spoil the surprise, being his daughter's first word. Also consider foreshadowing to keep people's interest, if it doesn't harm the flow of the story. Unless people like sad or drama, in which case prolly don't need foreshadowing. But I am not a pro writer so take it with a grain of salt.

• 2 months later...

Contrary to muh boy, Pippy above me, I'd say to go the opposite route. Don't have any foreshadowing at all! Mind you, don't think I've ever met foreshadowing I liked. I mean, unless its subtle enough to where you only see it looking back or rereading, the practice is basically spoiling stuff before it happens. No, if you ask me, if, when & do you write it, have it blindsight the audience as much as it does Shining Armor! If anything, really fits the subject matter too. A baby's first words can't be planned or coached, it'll happen when it does, unexpectedly!  Well,most likely, I ain't never had no kid.