Banner by ~ Ice Princess Silky

Reboot or press on?

Steel Accord

Hello everypony,

So here's the deal. I graduated in August with a bachelor's in Creative Writing and I'm looking to soon get employed in that capacity. I am a writer and will soon get paid to create and spin tales for others. How I even started that though came from my very first fanfic . . . one that I started and yet to finish or publish. See, that fic was quite literally my very first attempt at serious fiction writing and the positive feedback I got was part of what pushed me to pursuing it as a career. Thing is, I've gone through so much personal change and learned so much more on the actual craft of writing that I now have two competing visions for the story.

The original:

-Conversion Bureau fic

-Self-insert protagonist is a pegasus

-Story contains veiled metaphors to the greater brony culture, especially the early days as that's when I was writing it

-An extension, the main protagonist's brother is a secondary antagonist but the two eventually reconcile to beat the main threat

-The cast includes an airship of various sentient races

-The genre can be broadly categorized as a sci-fantasy adventure as the protagonist and crew venture across both worlds battling threats to humanity and Equestria, taking advantage of the former's mythos level of advanced technology and the former's abundance of magic

The new:

-Conversion Bureau fic (for right now)

-Self-insert protagonist is a zebra

-Story contains obvious and specific parallels to the fan-games Fighting is Magic and Them's Fightin' Herds

-The main cast is smaller with just the protagonist and his love interest

-The genre is more specifically martial arts, split between the sub-genres of wuxia, Hong Kong style urban action, and high stakes fighting tournament