Banner by ~ Ice Princess Silky

Spa scouting?

ManaMinori

Has anyone ever gone to a spa? How do you guts choose, when you go for the first time? I have never been, but I desperately need one. I've been looking at reviews for some on Yelp, but they seem divided. 

Can anyone share the tips of spa scouting, and your own personal spa experience? 

I'm no expert on spas, but from my experience...There isn't much of a  disparity between the regular and expensive ones at least none that I could really notice. Unless you go to a really sketchy one.... Most of them are decent so scouting's not really much of an issue. 

Personally I prefer the Asian spas with the tea infused hot springs.... Its like I'm swimming in Jasmine tea.... 

• 5 years later...
On 2017-06-02 at 1:59 AM, ManaMinori said:

Has anyone ever gone to a spa? How do you guts choose, when you go for the first time? I have never been, but I desperately need one. I've been looking at reviews for some on Yelp, but they seem divided. 

Can anyone share the tips of spa scouting, and your own personal spa experience? 

large.png

Soooooooooo... I know this post is over five years old, and this may be super random, but whatevs. I've only had two spa experiences myself, however, I am super OCD and detail-oriented, so believe me when I say I have over-thought the HELL out of this question. So, here are my tips based on my personal experiences (though I do hope you've found a spa in this time that you enjoy).

(1) First and foremost, you need to ask yourself what kind of treatments you're looking for. Are you most interested in massage/muscle relief? Skincare? Hand/foot care? Waxing? Water therapy? Saunas? Finding a place where you can have a very splurgy, 3-6 hour type spa day? These are all things you need to consider first as not all spas or spa-type places specialize in the same treatments or even spa experience.