Banner by ~ Ice Princess Silky

Did The Fandom Save The Show From Cancelling Early?

ChB

I've asked this in another forum, but I'd like to ask here for some more input.

I've heard many times that Hasbro originally intended to stop at Season 3, because of the 65 episode syndication. Supposedly, a 65 episode series would give one episode per weekday for the whole summer, so that children would finish the whole series before going back to school. 

My question is: Is it true that the Brony fandom played a big part in convincing Hasbro to continue the series, after Season 3? I've heard it many times, but don't know if it's true, as I haven't even joined the fandom, until 2015. I would think that it was rather toys and merchandise that played a primary role, but that's just speculation on my part with no hard facts.

What do you all think?

Thanks.

Edited by ChB
  • Brohoof 5

Did the fandom carry MLP since 1982?

I'm no expert but, MLP FiM is the biggest thing Hasbro has ever done. I believe they love it as much as we do, and will do anything in their power to keep it alive.

They got 65 million for a movie - that must have happened in what, 2014? Knowing it would take at least 2 years in development, Hasbro and its supporters seem optimistic I'd say.

• Brohoof 6

Hasbro definitely kept this iteration of MLP alive because of the money, and I definitely think bronies played a somewhat significant role in that, because the show started to acknowledge the brony fandom more in later seasons. From what I recall from EQD's summary of investor calls, the toy sales for MLP have been outperforming all their other "female" brands, though the growth has been slowing down. I think if the movie performs well at the box office, Hasbro will milk it for a little while longer before the next reset.

• Brohoof 2

@ChB

I'm going to try to remember what I said before from the other forum: