Banner by ~ Ice Princess Silky

Eqestrian Sun/moon/planet movement?

blackstarraven

Note: So...  I AM A SCIENSTIST.....

No really. I got a university degree in "General Science"

Then a Masters in Geography. Then a PhD in Geology. So I'm literally a student of science in general with a focus in Earth Science. And like most people with a heavy focus in a academic area, I have some times get a little OCD when it comes to watching something and trying to apply "My rules" to it.

---------

So this came up when I was watching a few episodes of MLP:FIM. I had a Epiphany....

The sun in My little pony CANT behave like our own star Sol.... So let's asses a few things.

--------

#1: Yes, It is totally possible that none of the following numbered points are true, it is possible that this is a VERY Abstract world. But then the world would not really operate in other ways that we see it does.

#2: The natural laws of Eqestria are at least formally similar if not close to our own. That is to say... Gravity is caused by mass, motion causes inertia so on and so on.

#3: It IS possible that the sun is much smaller then our sun and that Eqestria is much closer.

But the sun does shed light that grows plants. And it does give of heat. So it is most likely a star.

It also would need to be very close if its not stationary for the scaling to work, close enough that it would most likely wonk up the planet/moon/sun orbital model.

---------

So because of this I came to the conclusion that the following is the best explanation for the way that Cosmology works in FIM.

#1: The sun is in fact stationary in FIM.

#2: Eqestria itself is naturally tidal locked. (With one side facing the sun and another way all the time)

#3: The moon is more or less a normal moon.

-

With all this in place that would mean that Luna does in point move the moon.