Banner by ~ Ice Princess Silky

technology How old is your computer?

CandyCorn

Mine's 12 years old! :-D

It's a Toshiba, Windows Vista. I like the PC version of the forums, but my PC is so laggy that takes pretty long to start and to load web pages. I'm going to get a new PC soon, though. Right now I just use mobile to access the forums.

• Brohoof 3

I built it around five years ago, and it's chugging along merrily. More or less, anyway - one of the fans on my graphics card died, I have to leave the case open because a falling fan dented the top, but it's still working fine.

Mine is a frankenstien of 6-7 year old parts and 2-3 year old parts. Why? Because I'm a poor college student.

Only 5 months old. But to replace a virtually identical I got in 2015. Both Dell 15000 series notebooks. The previous went toes up with what looks like a hardware fault, wouldn't reboot after an interrupted Windows (10) update, blue screen of death, but then after getting instructions how to make a bootable USB, still BSOD but now saying "your computer needs to be repaired, a required device is not working."

TBH the DVD drive was never able to format or write any discs (apart from one box of 10 DVD's that wouldn't work in anything else, and which I've now lost during the house move and can't remember what brand/type they were). The battery was failing, then the AC adaptor, would sometimes drop out so then I'd notice it's running on battery, e.g. going into low power mode, that sort of thing. Think power input socket or plug was damaged, due to the typical angle of the cord, keeps getting tugged sideways and been dropped on a couple of times. Then kept getting BSOD: "Cannot verify type of AC adaptor" at every start up, so I would start it up on battery, then turn the mains on after.

Anyway everything works on the new one including the DVD drive. :D 

Sorry that turned into a bit of a rant.