Banner by ~ Ice Princess Silky

Design for love interest OC

Steel Accord

So I'm writing a fanfiction and I have the love interest's personality fleshed out but I can't settle on a look for her. Or I should say, I have a design in mind, it's just incredibly uninspired. (Don't read until you've read the rest of the post!)

Spoiler

White unicorn with long black hair and blue eyes. She's Rarity in a Fluttershy mane wig that's been dipped in ink. I do admit certain "preferences" for both Rarity and Fluttershy, which is why this character has visual traits of both but as I've gotten better as a writer, I do think I can do better given the sheer variety of colors, hairstyles, and occasional prop that can be had with pony characters.

To give you some idea of where to go, Saffron is a shy girl with a talent and passion for mathematics. Her mousy demeanor is not a natural disposition but a result of growing up under an abusive father. As soon as she gets away from him, she slowly starts to come out of her shell to the point where she can stand up to him when he catches up to her about his mistreatment of her. Saffron doesn't completely flip the script and become Rarity or Rainbow Dash, e.g. the self-confidence of a concrete rhino. She's still dainty and reserved, however she's also no longer terrified of the world around her and is even accepted into Celestia's school for gifted unicorns due to her math skills. Saffron's last emotional hurdle was finding her mom, who had left the family when her husband's drinking became too much. Greener Pastures deeply regrets not taking Saffron with her, but she did leave her own daughter to suffer at the hands of an abuser. Saffron understandably wants to reconnect with her mother but she doesn't instantly forgive her either. Opting instead to "work on it" from a distance and return to Canterlot with her boyfriend (the central protagonist) rather than stay with her re-discovered mom.