Banner by ~ Ice Princess Silky

gaming Have Role-Playing Video Games improved your vocabulary or reading skill?

Cash In

Have Role-Playing Video Games improved your vocabulary or reading skill?  

10 users have voted

1. 1. Have Role-Playing Video Games improved your vocabulary or reading skill?

• Not at all
    • A tiny bit
    • A fair amount
    • Quite a lot

...I'm mostly doing this for my Informatics assignment, to be perfectly honest :-D.

Role-Playing games (RPGs) tend to have a large amount of information and dialogue in them. They help build the game's world and can make the experience more enjoyable. Because of the amount of different words and phrases utilised, they may be able to help improve one's vocabulary and reading comprehension. Have they managed improve yours to any degree?

As for me, RPGs have helped me out a fair bit. My vocabulary and reading comprehension used to be behind most kids my age, until I started playing RPGs such as Pokemon and Paper Mario. It wasn't an instant spike in skill, but as time passed and more hours were played, my vocabulary saw some substantial improvement and so did my reading ability. Writing stories is one of my hidden passions and I doubt that would remain, had my reading ability didn't improve. 

1 hour ago, Quinch said:

I rather think that my vocabulary and reading skills improved my appreciation of roleplaying games instead.

Probably more like this. Or they worked in tandem. I can definitely say a desire to understand more was born from text heavy games I saw when I was a child though.

• Brohoof 1

I was going to say "quite a bit", but in hindsight, I think they increased by pattern recognition skills more, since I played a few RPGs before I could even read, but managed to get decently far in them by recognizing patterns, skills, character stats, etc.

• Brohoof 2

Not at all.