Banner by ~ Ice Princess Silky

movies/tv How did you react to Phantom Menace?

CastletonSnob

Next year, Phantom Menace turns 20 years old, so I thought I'd make this thread.

How excited were you when you heard that the Phantom Menace was coming out? Did you camp out in front of the theater? What did you think when you finished watching it in the theater?

• Brohoof 1

I was really excited for it when I first heard about it. I was about six or seven but I was a huge fan of Stars Wars and it was my first Star Wars in theaters and at the time and I remember loving it. Even now I still love the movie, warts and all

• Brohoof 2

I was a freshman in college when the first trailer was shown on TV. It was like a holiday. I was so stoked to see it. In the theater, I thought it was alright.  Nothing spectacular. It was only when it hit VHS that everyone woke up to what a piece of garbage it was. 

I really enjoyed it when I watched it. All the action: lightsaber duels, dogfights, podracers, the Battle of Naboo; loved it! It was the very first Star Wars movie I watched. Always wondered why the prequel trilogy had better combat and graphics (eg. lightsabers) than the original trilogy. Found out that Episodes 4-6 were made before 1-3.

My favourite character is Anakin Skywalker (as a Jedi Knight), and my favourite episode is Episode III: Revenge of the Sith.

Edited by ILoveRara
  • Brohoof 4

I was really excited for it. Though I was confused with the political parts, I enjoyed the movie overall. Loved the Podracing, the Battle of Naboo, and of course the Lightsaber battle.

I was so excited to see it, and went the second week of release after school (I was in high school). After growing up with the original trilogy being worn out of my VHS and betamax, sitting though the special editions in theatres, I was expecting the best.

And got Phantom Menace. And jar jar. And a bad Yoda puppet. And that annoying kid macking it on Natalie Portman. Eh... It was quite disappointing.