Banner by ~ Ice Princess Silky

Hobbies you have that come and go?

Early Sunsets

What hobbies do you have that you seem to only be able to enjoy for a short while before you need a break?

I personally really like writing, but I can only write for a month or two before I feel like taking a long break. Every time I get back into writing and re-read what I've already written, I'm unhappy with it and re-write it, so I never get anywhere. I have a story I've been working on for like 5 years off and on, and I've only got 3-ish chapters done because I re-wrote it so many times. I had 20 at one point, but they were really short and terrible anyway, so they went to the trash pile.

• Brohoof 2

I can relate to that!

I have tons of phases I go through with being pretty obsessed with something. 

Maybe five years ago, there was a couple weeks where I just drew up all my own pony characters after tracing the base on the window:laugh:

Then there was the rubix cube stage, pokemon stage, MLP card game stage, stages for specific books, soccer stage, clay stage, DIY stage, bracelet making stage, ... and more.... 

• Brohoof 2

Video games come to mind. I played video games daily when I was a kid and teenager. I took a long hiatus from gaming during college, but ever since then, my interest hasn't been the same. My interest in gaming comes and goes these days.  

Small engine repair was once my favorite hobby, but after 5 or so years working at a shop, kinda got burned out. I revisit it some when my lawnmower needs servicing.  ^_^

• Brohoof 1

I do have this  phases of drawing fanarts nonstop based on what I like for the moment. 

Well...

• I had an army men stage when I was in my teens, but it stopped pretty quickly.
  • I occasionally like writing short stories, particularly ones about time travel. But I get writer's block and stop.
  • I had a stage where I wanted to code. But I got stuck when I was doing classes, so I stopped.