Banner by ~ Ice Princess Silky

Criticism Request [Digital Painted OC]

Indigent.Squirrel

Hello World! (First Post)

I am a digital art hobbyist looking for a bit of criticism for the piece below. In all honesty, any criticism you have would be much appreciated; from the art style, topic, structure, character design, image resolution, etc.!

This specific piece is called "Corpus Limbo." The OC's name is "Nebula Swirl" taking place in some forgotten wing of the Canterlot Archive. I've made a bit of a backstory to the character (which, if you are so inclined, you may read on my Deviantart here) the gist of which is that Neb is looking for a secret powerful book deep within the archives to further her own goals (nefarious or otherwise =o).

My primary goals with this piece were to (1) Develop a pony OC, (2) attempt to do something that looks three dimensional (with some level of realism), (3) create a piece that conveys a depth of field, and (5) play with a contrast of light and dark (from a singular point, that being the horn). While I have my own critics on this particular piece, I would like to hear what others with fresh eyes have to say regarding Corpus Limbo, and hopefully apply such things to a future piece.

WP34n0h.jpg

You can find a slightly higher resolution (I think 1440x1440) of the image on my DeviantArt page (posted above)

Thanks!

I.S

A play with shadows and light really catch my attention - you've succeed with it really well. Also murky background and uneven pattern of floor gives nicely mystical feeling, fitting well with magical library. All around it looks great!

Woah thats pretty cool!
waaay better than me hahah

I really like the style, it is sorta like a painting style
looks great!

let me start by saying this looks great and you achieved the points you were trying to pretty well,
now then, since you asked for it, here it comes