Banner by ~ Ice Princess Silky

movies/tv What are some unpopular opinions you have related to film?

AveryGamerDude

I saw that there was already an unpopular opinion thread about video games, so I figured I'd make one about movies. To start off, I have a few...

I don't think Citizen Kane is all that great - I watched this movie during film class when I was a sophomore in high school, and I didn't think it was that great. Am I saying it's bad? No! I just thought it was... okay, and that's about it. I don't really understand why people think this movie is one of, if not THE best movie ever made. It doesn't really seem to have that much of a point to it. I have heard a lot of people say: "This movie's really deep, man!" But honestly, I don't think having a point is about saying something deep or telling a great moral or something like that. Having a point would be being funny, thrilling, or telling a good story. (I know people are gonna argue that Citizen Kane has a good story, but I digress.)

I don't think The Cat in the Hat starring Mike Myers is all that bad - Now before you go lighting your torches and sharpening your pitchforks, hear me out. I definitely can understand WHY this movie is seen as such a big insult to the book by Dr. Seuss, and while I don't think this is a GOOD movie, I'm not really sure if it deserves all the undying hatred it gets. I'll be honest, a few of the jokes in the movie did make me laugh, like when the Cat in the Hat got hit in the groin by a baseball bat, or when he said "That could've gone better" after the kids ran away in terror. I also don't get how Mike Myers in the cat suit is all that scary. Everyone I see on the internet thinks that this is the scariest movie ever made, but I just think they're a bunch of pansies. Seriously? What's so scary about a guy in a cat suit? I've seen scarier things on MLP...