Banner by ~ Ice Princess Silky

Ask an Aviation Fuel Quality Controller

Celestial Panzerhund

(edited)

It's been a super long time since I've been back on here. So why not start with an AMA?

As title stated, I'm a Fuel Farmer for aviation. I like to rename it: "Aviation Fuel Quality Control and Storage Management",  cause it sounds fancier,  buuuuuut the "Fuel Farmer" is the real name for it. 

I can tell by going around my city and telling people what I do comes as a surprise cause it's practically an unheard of job, so I thought I'd share it here as a way to get back into the swing of things on here after not logging in for nearly 8yrs, also may give ideas for jobs people might be looking for, too. 

Below is a Filter Separator unit. An old one. Thought it'd be neat to see20211210_083805.thumb.jpg.1d135e7f0d9109b3e1887630c2ec19b7.jpg

Edited by Celestial Panzerhund
  • Brohoof 2

Basic math and understanding the severity of your job. A hassle, right?! 

But it can also depend on who ya work for and their requirements. My tasks are easy enough and a computer does 99.9% of the calculations already. I make sure the fuel is pristine going and and coming out.

6 minutes ago, -Solstice- said:

What got you into this line of work?

That's gonna be a long answer

But to shorten it: I searched for a career outside of typical college. Found trade school. Went into AMT (Aviation Maintenance Technician) for an A&P (Airframe and Powerplant) license. 19mth course, finished it, now all I gotta do is test. And that's a whole 'nother dog to tame.

• Brohoof 1

53 minutes ago, Celestial Panzerhund said:

That's gonna be a long answer

But to shorten it: I searched for a career outside of typical college. Found trade school. Went into AMT (Aviation Maintenance Technician) for an A&P (Airframe and Powerplant) license. 19mth course, finished it, now all I gotta do is test. And that's a whole 'nother dog to tame.