Banner by ~ Ice Princess Silky

Thinking about giving skateboarding a try

Discordian

I know, crazy. I'm not really in it for doing tricks or anything I just wanna be able to ride, at least at first.

I'm not very well balanced so I know I need to work on that....somehow, plus I think my weight is working against me. I have a Skateboard from a few years back but it doesn't turn very well. When I try to turn it squeezes down on the wheel and slows me to a stop and it's either my weight or the skateboard isn't calibrated well. (I know you can affect the performance by messing with the wheels or axle or something)

Anyone here have any skateboarding experience? Got any tips for an absolute beginner?

I used to skateboard quite a bit before I fractured and had surgery on my ankle (don't worry it wasn't from skateboarding :P) Probably the best things that you can do is look up beginner tutorial videos on YouTube. Some of them are actually pretty helpful... Oh and it sounds like your trucks are really loose. Just take a wrench and tighten those up, but just remember not too tight (You still want some flexibility).

Overall, it's pretty much practice practice practice! That's pretty much the key to success.

Good luck and happy skating! :)

• Brohoof 1

I know, crazy. I'm not really in it for doing tricks or anything I just wanna be able to ride, at least at first.

I'm not very well balanced so I know I need to work on that....somehow, plus I think my weight is working against me. I have a Skateboard from a few years back but it doesn't turn very well. When I try to turn it squeezes down on the wheel and slows me to a stop and it's either my weight or the skateboard isn't calibrated well. (I know you can affect the performance by messing with the wheels or axle or something)

Anyone here have any skateboarding experience? Got any tips for an absolute beginner?