Banner by ~ Ice Princess Silky

[ASK ME!] Hypnosis - what's it all about? (AKA "Trust me, I'm a hypnotist!)

ping111

Hi there!  My, do you look beautiful today!

So, the bronyverse is aflutter with these new "pony hypnosis" recordings.  A lot of people have tried them, and some have even said it works.  But what no-one ever seems to be able to answer is "why does it work"?

That's where I come in.  I'm an amateur hypnotist who's fairly well-versed in the simple explanation of how mere words can slip you under and change you so drastically.  Now, I'm not going to get into the neurons and the grey matter and all that.  In fact, I'm not even going to use a Freudian model or anything like that.  This post will be updated as I get asked questions or discover/remember something new.

Anyways, let's start with the basic "talk" I always give my patients (really just friends, but I have helped one of them with pre-test anxiety), to tell them the basics about what they'll face when I put them under: 

"Remember, real hypnosis doesn't involve some shady-looking guy pulling a watch out of his pocket, swinging it, and telling you you're getting "veeeeryyyy sleeeepyyyy", and then BAM, you're his willing zombie who'll rob a bank with his eyes closed and drooling.  First off, I can't ask you to do anything you're unwilling to do normally (the first few times, anyway), or your inner conscious will think "hey, that's weird...  Why would I want to trust a guy who wants me to pull my pants off?" and you'll wake up and punch me in the face.  But, as we do this more and more, you'll subconsciously build rapport, or inner trust, with me, and with your waking consent, we can do some pretty wacky stuff.