Banner by ~ Ice Princess Silky

How is Cadence related to Celestia?

UserNotFound

OK so i just read somewhere that Cadence is Celestia's niece... how does that work? Anypony got any ideas about how that works out?

I understand this may be headcanon territory but... I'm confused... :(

Also sorry if this is in the wrong section, i'm still learning

Adopted niece. In the book, "Twilight Sparkle and the Crystal Heart Spell", this is what happens:

The book tells the story of Twilight Sparkle after she'd been made an Alicorn and seeks advice on being a princess. She turns to Cadance, who tells her life story, how as a baby Pegasus she was found in the woods by Earth ponies, who took her to their village. When she grew up she reversed a love-stealing spell cast by a pony called Prismia. Prismia wore a magic-enhancing necklace that amplified her evil and jealousy, but when Cadance confronted her, the necklace amplified Cadance's love. Once Prismia changed her horrible ways, Cadance was surrounded by magical energy and transported to a strange place where she met Celestia, who adopted her as her royal niece.

So yeah, they aren't blood related or anything. Keep in mind this isn't 100% canon but generally this is what most people accept.

• Brohoof 2

She's not related by blood at all. Celestia took her in as her niece after she gained an understanding of love so great she transformed in an alicorn. Similar to how Twilight's understanding of friendship changed her.

Blueblood on the other hand is another mystery. we do not know how he came in inherit the title of Prince.

Edited by Malinter

Hmm, I wonder about that too. Blueblood is Celestia's nephew, which is something I'm confused with too. Twilight can't become Celestia's niece, unless she is related to her in any way or related to the royal family.

Celestia may regard her as such already, Twilight definately considered Cadence family (until her wedding made it official).