Banner by ~ Ice Princess Silky

When will 1440p phase out 1080p

TheMarkz0ne

I am really not thrilled nor feeling rushed to upgrade my graphics card, let alone go get a 1440p monitor with HDMI 2.0.

We can't even get cable in 1080p, it's all 1080i because Comcast and Verizon are to cheap to rid the US of coaxial tech from the 50s. People can only stream 1080p, not everyone has good internet. So you see people who're buying these 4K 90 inch tvs, just wasting time and money.

My graphics card is mid ranged. It can support native 1080p with DVI or HDMI 1.0

1080i is used for HDTV whether being live or a previous broadcast. I don't know anyone who has a 4k TV I bought a 1080p/i TV when the Sony 4k released :L

1440p is a thing? It's going to be a long time before it's phased out considering don't even know what it is (then again, I'm not tech savvy lol). I've never seen that option on YouTube which is why I assume it'll be a while before it's finally phased out.

1440p is a thing? It's going to be a long time before it's phased out considering don't even know what it is (then again, I'm not tech savvy lol). I've never seen that option on YouTube which is why I assume it'll be a while before it's finally phased out.

Yeah, 1440p has been a thing on the PC for a while. 1080p is still the most common resolution for gaming.

It was actually expected for 1440p to replace 1080p as the "standard" fully HD-compliant resolution in the 1980s because it is exactly 4 times the width and 3 times the height of 640x480. Hasn't quite happened yet.

Yeah, 1440p has been a thing on the PC for a while. 1080p is still the most common resolution for gaming.

It was actually expected for 1440p to replace 1080p as the "standard" fully HD-compliant resolution in the 1980s because it is exactly 4 times the width and 3 times the height of 640x480. Hasn't quite happened yet.

Yeah I forgot that these are obsolete resolutions. Government keeping all the good stuff to themselves =P