Banner by ~ Ice Princess Silky

Hey halp with digital art MLP

StarStrike

Alright I'm new to art but my hand drawing is terrible, but my hands are desgined for PC lol...just wanted to know if anyone have tips or tutorials on mlp digital art, if you do post em please I'd reall appreciate it, also someone else drew my avatar, clearing that out heh.

Oh I use Inkscape btw, also does vectoring even help your drawing?

Vectoring won't make your drawings good if that's what you're asking.  Vectoring is just one way of cleaning and colouring your work; and an ideal one because it has virtually limitless resolution.

The bad news is there is no 'Make it Look Good' approach to drawing other than drawing well to begin with; if your hand-drawing isn't good, then your drawings aren't going to be good no matter how you go about pretty-ing them up.  The good news is drawing well is a skill, and skills can be learned.  I use Inkscape as well, but it's not a good program to start a drawing with, just to clean drawings with.

Look into Life Drawing tutorials and tips; things you can find with Google easy enough.  You can learn your foundations there and once you know and apply those, your drawings will improve.  And, if you find the opportunity, see if you can attend some life drawing sessions (I know several towns have Art Centers that offer them).

I could go on for a long time about how to draw but I'll try to condense it to some key points:

-Always start with a rough sketch.  Define the volume, proportions, and pose of the character you're drawing before you move on to clean lines.  This is the most important part.  The sketch will define what every bit of what the final drawing will ultimately look like and is the easiest stage at which to fix any errors.