Banner by ~ Ice Princess Silky

Advice and Tips From a Professional

ErBoi

Warning:  This is a very very long post.

Hello Creative Resource board! All things considered, I'm surprised I haven't been more active on here before.
You may or may not know me but I'll just go ahead and lay out where I'm coming from.
I am a digital artist and animator, both by freelance and contract. I am currently a Junior Animator at Atomic Cartoons, and the two supervisors I work under worked on Friendship is Magic in the past. I also have past experience doing prop, character and effects builds on Mother Up! and Rick and Morty.

There is a lot of potential in this community and I want to help it along.

So, as the title suggests, I'm making this thread to give advice and tips on drawing. Obviously there are tons of threads asking for individual advice and, while I'm happy to give advice directly to specific people, a lot of the advice that can be given is universal.
In fact, a rut that just about every aspiring artist (myself definitely included) falls into, usually in the high school age-range, is to under-value roughing out your work and go immediately for slapping clean lines down. When you draw like that, your lines don't have any sense of expression or hold any indication of volume. For my own eye personally, the ugliest drawings are those that clearly had a lot of care put into their rendering; fancy colours and shading; while having had no foundations put into their early stages. Ultimately, characters drawn that way look like cardboard cutouts. While the layman may look at those drawings and immediately praise them, an experienced artist will know at a glance, beyond shadow of a doubt, when you've skipped the roughing. And, again, those are the kinds of drawings I was guilty of before my college years,

I'm gonna section these off into their own spoilers since this post is likely going to end up very lengthy (as if it wasn't already).