Banner by ~ Ice Princess Silky

Animation Fundamentals

ErBoi

(edited)

Warning:  Yet again, this is a very long post.

Also, when I previewed this post, it was inconsistent about embedding videos so you may have to open some links.

Animation Fundamentals

Alrighty, so you may have checked out my earlier thread about professional drawing methods and tips and whatnot. You may also know that I am a professional animator (currently working on a show called Pirate Express) and, if you're reading this, I'm guessing you're interested in animating. I'll try to come across less pretentious in this thread and just delve into the content.

There are several different kinds of animation, but the same basic principles to acquiring appealing, expressive motion apply to all of them. For simplicity I'll be talking in terms of traditional frame-by-frame animation and trying to work in tips on achieving similar effects with puppet (i.e. Flash) style animation.

I've made some small example animations as well to demonstrate some of these principles.

Path of Action

In my previous thread, I discussed Line of Action and how it sells the motion of a character. A Line of Action is something you still use in animation but we'll get to that later; a Path of Action is a bit more literal as it's the path that the on-screen action takes. You'll see the Path of Action for a couple of my own examples further down.

Timing