Banner by ~ Ice Princess Silky

critique wanted Completed OC vector - First time Background / shading.

Jest (Inactive)

This is a completed OC Raster using a base for the basic shape. I have never done shading <before yesterday> in my life and this is my first ever attempt at doing any form of background. I put the leaves / her feather falling off her wing to show the strength and direction of the wind, the sun to show the direction of the light and justify the shading. 

JtYrdWV.png

Any advice? I know there are still some white clipping edges around the outsides, I can fix that tomorrow 

Base used : http://sh0stakovltch...table-405513329

EDIT: Used a more powerful tool, this is now the finished product.

Edited by Jestwinged
  • Brohoof 5

Anatomy is good, head is fine though the eye seems slightly off; it might be too round. The mane could come forward a little bit, as right now it looks like it's a whit too far back on the head. The eye reflections should be opaque white and not transparent, and I'd get rid of the little crescent part of the reflection.

The background unfortunately isn't too good; there's no depth to the scene with just the one hill and no visible horizon, and the dark grey outlines look unnatural; you'll notice in all MLP art, there's no outlines on the background. Even outside of MLP art, it's not something you generally see--but if you're going to put an outline on a background, make it a darker shade of whatever you're outlining. So the ground would have a green outline instead of the current grey one. It's also not good that the sky is one solid colour; you'll want to have it be a gradient of some sort.

Also, is this vector art? It looks like raster to me.

Edited by Makazi
  • Brohoof 1

(edited)