Banner by ~ Ice Princess Silky

How do roleplays work?

Phoenix Flair
Go to solution Solved by Kay Dreamer,

First off, dunno if this goes in the general discussion area, but it seemed like the roleplay area is just for roleplays and recruitment, so I'll try and stick this here.

Anyway, I'm a writer. Have been since I was six, and I love it. I also love the idea of collabing with another aspiring author, though I haven't worked up the nerve to do it yet. But I don't get roleplays. I mean, what's the point of it? You don't create any story that you could have other people read. it's too long and unprofessional for that. And how do you reconcile the disparity in skill level? The roleplays I've read are like patchworks with all the different styles and tenses and POV's mushed together. How can you make a cohesive story with all these different people going about it different ways?

And how do you agree on where the plot goes? Do you just go with whatever your partners drudge up? Is there a way to tell someone that their idea is rubbish, or that their character is WAY too overpowered? I've always imagined a roleplay like when little kids play superheroes, you know? You start off picking your one power and then not ten minutes into the game someone else wants to add flight, and then everyone else wants a second power, and someone else wants a third until at the end everyone's Superman and the game is complete chaos.

I guess the main question is: How do you balance that many egos and different personalities in a roleplay?

• Brohoof 1

@@Phoenix Flair

I agree that the disparity in skill level can often be frustrating (grammar often gets brutally massacred in these things). That's why, when I do RP, I tend to gravitate more towards the ones filled with longer, better-written posts (assuming I can find them), and less so towards the shorter, faster-moving ones.