Banner by ~ Ice Princess Silky

3D pony models

Gekoncze

Hi,

I am working on a little project and need some 3D pony models to test it. I searched on google of course, but somehow :blink: I couldn't find many downloadable *.obj models. I found some (the archive name is pony_models_mane_6_pose_0), but those were too... detailed. You could propably ask why should it be a problem. It is not because of speed, but... I'll explain.

I have seen many models of ponies, but they were missing something - the "edges". So I wanted to find a way to add it to the model. I spend few hours thinking and programming and I came up with one which is pretty fast, but it has one disadvantage - it sometimes fails at thin hollow parts and those models I had downloaded had one hollow part - the mouth (there was even a tongue :) ). So it made some glitches there if you choosed the edge too thick. I had to remove the hollow part, but it takes a long time, because I am not experienced much in 3D modeling.

So I was wondering if anypony could provide me a few models, so I can see how it looks on those models. I need it in *.obj or some other file which can be exported to *.obj in blender. It should also have a texture for eyes and for a cutie mark :) .

Also I would like to know if the "edge" looks good on the model, or if it looks weird or something, so here it is how it looks applied on a fluttershy model:

http://files.spyropi...f5d5894/lpm.png

And, if anypony knows how to use NURBS in opengl, I would really appreciate some help. :)

• Brohoof 2

Hey there, for I can´t provide you any models I´d still like to comment on your model.

So, I like it very much, I guess you put a serious amount of work in it, the edge looks very good. Only on some points like the wings or parts of the mane it could be a few more parts (like you made a curve by adding many straight lines in angles), but all in all a good job, would like to see more of this, keep it up =)