Banner by ~ Ice Princess Silky

This is my first attempt at carving a pumpkin. (I've made simple jack-o-lanterns before but they don't count) I decided to use the technique of only shaving off the outer layer instead of cutting holes.

So what do you think about it so far? I'm still working on it but I wanted some input before I finish incase you guys think I should do something different. If it turns out good enough I'm going to enter it in the 8K Brony Pumpkin Carving Contest on Reddit.

Lit | Unlit

post-37-0-69299700-1319768125_thumb.jpgpost-37-0-87431900-1319768155_thumb.jpg

(sorry for the large image size)

Finished!

Lit | Unlit (with reddit username)

post-37-0-46656800-1319836567_thumb.jpgpost-37-0-25479800-1319836637_thumb.jpg

At first I cut the white part of the eyes out completely but it was too bright so I put the pieces back in. (derp)

There doesn't seem to be a "craft" prefix anymore so I used "visual art" instead.

Edited by Apple Bloom
  • Brohoof 5

That looks fantastic! The design's perfect in my opinion. Kinda makes me wish we celebrated Halloween in Australia.

That's sweet! I never even thought about just shaving the outsides off until I started spending more time on the internet. I may just do something like this...

okay, probably not. I don't have an idea yet, and I'd only do it if I could enter it into a pony pumpkin contest somewhere.

Still, very nice. It actually looks like her too! There are a lot of them that don't look show-accurate at all...

Also I like its mane.

That's sweet! I never even thought about just shaving the outsides off until I started spending more time on the internet. I may just do something like this...

okay, probably not. I don't have an idea yet, and I'd only do it if I could enter it into a pony pumpkin contest somewhere.

Still, very nice. It actually looks like her too! There are a lot of them that don't look show-accurate at all...

Also I like its mane.