Banner by ~ Ice Princess Silky

Anyone have a good tutorial on drawing ponies?

chef sanders

I'm planning on getting a drawing tablet soon, and I was hoping to find some good pony drawing tutorials. If you have or know of a good guide, could you please link it up? Thanks in advance!

Just find some official art and use that as a guideline. If you're a good artist (Which I'll assume you are, seeing as how you're buying a drawing tablet), that should be enough.

I'm no expert myself, but this is what I recommend. Pull up a picture of a pony in profile, like the picture of Big Mac above or any other pony really, as long as they are not really complicated for whatever reason. Printing it out is best. Trace over the image with a marker or differently colored pencil or whatever so you can see basic shapes, I particularly use circles and rectangles (though with rounded edges typically, though the art style is up to you. :) ). Then you can either use a sort of lightbox or other tracing device to transfer the circles and copy them on a blank sheet, without all the details of the original. REALLY study what you have now. Look back and forth and back and forth. See how things balance up, how they make it look proportional and whatnot. Work backwards up to here or however far you need to and then work forward again. I really don't know what else to say.

Oh yah. Here's the mod of the Ask Nokia blog's tutorial. ;)http://www.youtube.com/user/tomol6/videos

• Brohoof 1

I'm planning on getting a drawing tablet soon, and I was hoping to find some good pony drawing tutorials. If you have or know of a good guide, could you please link it up? Thanks in advance!

first google search results for "mlp drawing tutorial"

http://www.equestriadaily.com/2011/01/pony-drawing-guides.html

This one is just good:

http://www.dragoart.com/tuts/8102/1/1/how-to-draw-my-little-pony,-friendship-is-magic-style.htm

(edited)