Banner by ~ Ice Princess Silky

What exactly are reference lines used for? And should I be using them?

Zygen

I was just wondering this after finding out the assistance of this, (Yeah i'm slow sorry.) So i'm wondering what exactly the benefit is to using it?

And should I be using them? I mean I've never used them before, i've always done my "Art" by drawing the outline around everything, and then I color it in. I suppose it would be easy to put a reference line in the back or something with GIMP, but I don't really understand its purpose.

So anybody have some clarifications on it for me?

Let's say you make a super realistic fantacy landscape and then someone takes it and uses it for a video with out refrencing you as the artist and the person get's famous because of the art not the video, how would it feel?  So you end up suing them for all the credit they get for making something they didn't make, well the same thing could happen to you if you don't unfortunatly.

I'm pretty new to art programs, what are these reference lines and how do I use them? I can't seem to find anything about it on google.

what they mean is that if you use a (PONY BASE) which is the outliine already drawn up for you

that you can draw the same pony pose as the base your looking on to

So if you go onto DeviantART and look for a pose to use

and end up copying it all the way, then you need to credit your source

and basically say, so and so drew this base

• Brohoof 1

I'm confused, are we talking about using bases? Or reference lines (as in, circles and bisecting lines drawn to help align features)?

I'm sorry i didn't make it clear. I mean reference lines, as in circles and lines that are like under a picture and draw on pictures then erased later and are just kept for well reference?