Banner by ~ Ice Princess Silky

Arduino fun

TwilizzleFoShizzle

So I decided on a project and wanted some help with details n such, preferably from somebody with experience with arduino. I am using an Arduino Nano with an XBee nano shield, and want to have it output to 3 motors. I want the input for said board to be data that it recieves from another nano/Xbee combo and joystick/button shield sitting at my desk. I also want it to send data back from an FPV camera. This is my first project with arduino and I may eliminate the camera part if needed, but would prefer to keep the option open. I will be drawing up a schematic n such at some point to show what I have setup, but at the moment I am too lazy. Also, I need to know if I need third party ESC's or if the arduino motor shield is compatible with nano. Lastly, I need to know if there is a way to transcieve with my other board, the micro, using a breadboard. the micro is not shield compatible by the way. Thx for helping, and if you want to help me in a more conversation like manner add me on steam @ watamacha

Edited by TwilizzleFoShizzle
  • Brohoof 1

@@TwilizzleFoShizzle,

Well, you can't drive the motors directly, and that is for two reasons; first being the flyback from the motors. The small electromagnets in motors are rather inductive; by definition, this means when you disconnect them from power, the emf will collapse, generating a giant voltage spike, damaging poor Duino in process. This can be observed when you just connect the motor to a power source, such as battery-upon disconnecting, you see a small Sparkle. Second reason is that the pins cannot provide enough current. The way to solve both issues is to use an H-Bridge of some sort-I highly reccomend using L293Ds. They are like 2 bucks each and they are quite handy. However, it'd be nice if you could provide following stuff to me:

1) What motors are you using? Current (or just their internal resistance), voltage