Banner by ~ Ice Princess Silky

Game Development and Design Major

Cherry_Bloom

Hello every pony! I'm a game development and design student at southern new Hampshire university online. I'm currently only studying my required classes such as English math science and the like so I have zero experience in design. I was hoping someone on here could be my tutor. Teach me. Tell me what programs I need for 2d and 3d and help me learn to use them. I would appreciate it so much.

• Brohoof 1

Hello @Cherry_Bloom,

Your topic seems to be seeking assistance with game development. As such, I've moved it from Video & Animation to Other Art Help.

• 5 weeks later...

If you are getting into game design then you should learn both JavaScript as well as C#. The first programming language that 'clicked' for me was C++ and that is probably one of the better languages to start out with. It is very similar to both C# and JavaScript, the main deference is that JavaScript uses different keywords.

You need to know how to program for scripting and such, because a lot of the time you won't find exactly what you need online and you will have to make/code it yourself.

For example I made a game in Unity for a class project that incorporated both 1st and 3rd person, but I didn't want walls and such interfering with 3rd person so I wrote a script that automatically switched to 1st person when the 3rd person camera 'Collided' with an object. This is a rather simple example but it can be as complex as you like 

• 3 weeks later...

Codecademy is a great free site to start learning coding, by the way! 

But there are many other parts of game design, I personally studied game development and prefer the structure/story building and world building, but I also do some 3D design work.