Banner by ~ Ice Princess Silky

Elements in Drawing?

Sky Warden

Hello there everypony! Wardy here, asking you great artists some questions about drawing.

I'm always interested in arts. Drawing, music, writing, etc. I'm terribly suck at drawing anything in 3D, seriously. I can't play any other instrument other than piano, and I'm not very good at it. I just know the basic of music, but I can listen to every element of a song and appreciate every single *ding* of a music. Even though I can't play music, I ridiculously put a high standard for musics in my playlist. :lol:

I'm aware that everypony has their art. For me it's probably writing. Even though I don't even have the time to write between my business (*code* *code* *code*), I want to try my hoof hand at drawing. I'm also interested in music by the way, but have no instrument to play with. Maybe there's a good but free composer software for Windows? I sold my piano some years ago, so please don't ask. :lol:

Then here are the questions. What are the basic elements in drawing? How do you make it works? How do you make it 3D? (ridiculous question I know, but it's serious)

How do you make all of those glitters? Those shadow? Those lighting? Dark and bright? Heavy and light? That 3D effect? That awesome sky space I can see in a 2D paper? Like a window to another world?

In writing, I have some guide lines on how to make my writing works like my desire. For example, I know how to bring people to the world of writing, invoke their imagination and feeling, make them understand the characters, etc, but in drawing? How the buck do you do those magnificent things?

To wrap things up :

• How do you make proper lighting and shadow in your drawing?
  • How do you make the perfect proportion of a 3D object?
  • How do you make proper perspective?
  • How do you make that "3D ball-like" effect in an object?
  • How do you make that soft outlines around an object?