Banner by ~ Ice Princess Silky

Does anyone play koto or Japanese instruments?

Sakutama

Hi everyone,

Does anyone play the koto or a Japanese instrument? I would love to meet some fellow bronies who do! Or per chance, anyone at least interested in kimono or learning Japanese would be nice!

I hope I'll hear from someone ^^ thank you!

• Brohoof 1

Instrumentally Japanese?  Unfortunately no.  I'm certainly interested however.

But in terms of music, I've been really delving into the Japanese modes and scales.  Tons of interesting sounds can come from stuff like the In Sen or the Hirajoshi (both of which I think are pentatonic and easy to learn).  And I play guitar and piano, but something like the koto again sounds really fun!

• Brohoof 1

(edited)

Oh wow!! It's so cool to meet fellow bronies who are at least interested in koto!!

I've been learning for almost 2 years, so I'm still a newbie. But it's my dream to do covers of MLP songs on my koto, and a few select other fandoms I have too. But I want them to be decent covers that will do the koto justice, so I've been trying to skill up and study music theory and composition when I have free time. Music theory and composition is REALLY hard to understand, but I'm sort-of getting it.

Unfortunately free time is always precious and few because I'm also studying Japanese and how to wear and sew kimono. I rarely have free time to even sit down and play a few video games like I used to. (T ^ T)

But koto is my focus, so I've been thinking lately about at least trying to put more effort into pony covers, hoping I might find help here. I wasn't expecting help or even koto interest though, so I posted happy enough to make new friends at least. ^^ I'm so surprised!!

Here's a little sample of me trying the first part of True True Friend on the koto. I was just fiddling on my own, it isn't great but I hope it gives you an idea what a cover MIGHT sound like.

http://youtu.be/Olt-K0hAzWw