Banner by ~ Ice Princess Silky

FIRST Tech Challenge

Flicker

FIRST (For Inspiration and Recognition of Science and Technology) has given me many interesting experiences. When most people think about engineers, they picture a bunch of geeky guys sitting at a computer all day, not a high schooler in a gorilla suit with a comically over sized allen wrench. They don't tend to think of girls either.

I've been doing FIRST Tech Challenge for two years now. While I'm still the only girl on my team, I have loads of fun. I'll admit, when I signed on I never pictured myself programming a robot or making 3-D virtual models. At most, I thought I'd put a part or two together. And I never thought I'd take a trip to St. Louis to compete against teams from around the world.

Dancing "Cotton Eyed Joe" in a Gandalf costume in front of a crowd was not very high on the list either.

FTC is a program for high school students to make robots and compete to complete a task (this year the goal is to pick up blocks and put them in bins). After spending time prototyping, designing, programming, and building the robot the teams from a region get together and see which robots are the most effective. My team had only been around for two years, so I was shocked when we qualified to compete at Worlds.

Some people think that they're not smart enough to make a robot. This is rarely true. There's more than just math. Last year, I discovered that I have a certain talent for making digital models. No math involved (though I do enjoy algebra). Some people think that being a robotics kid means living up to the geeky, antisocial stereotype. Ridiculous. We have lives too, very fun ones actually. We play sports, go to parties, and make friends. I've actually made several at competitions, some of which were bronies.