Banner by ~ Ice Princess Silky

Ask a former veterinary technician and now current dog groomer!

Venomous

I graduated from veterinary technician school in 2018. I worked a singular job as a vet tech. Even though I decided to pursue another career, I would love to answer any questions you may have! (Obviously, I will not offer any medical advice regarding your pet(s). This is meant for general questions).

As stated by this thread’s title, I am now a dog groomer in training. Got any questions?

AC4B2509-97F2-4979-AA28-A84D751B0FD8.gif

• Brohoof 2

These are probably silly questions :awwthanks: but how often should I trim my dog's claws, and how do I properly wash her (stinky and sensitive) paws? :rarity:

Edited by Gaines

On 9/23/2020 at 10:21 AM, Gaines said:

These are probably silly questions :awwthanks: but how often should I trim my dog's claws, and how do I properly wash her (stinky and sensitive) paws? :rarity:

The general rule is to trim or grind your dog’s nails every 3-4 weeks. 

So many dogs have an issue with their paws being dealt with. It’s very, very common. If you can’t clean them yourself, take your dog into a professional groomer. They know how to deal with that sort of thing. Take your dog in to get its nails done and ask to get their paws cleaned as well. They should do it for an extra price. If you want to stick to doing it yourself at home, use hypoallergenic wipes for dogs. Don’t force it, though! If your dog has had enough being messed with, leave them be and try again later.

On 9/23/2020 at 1:47 PM, TBD 🚬 said:

What dog species do you have the most hard time grooming? 

Huskies and German Shepherds, no contest.