Banner by ~ Ice Princess Silky

Are saddles a THING in Equestria?!!?

Widdershins

Was doing a quest in the Legends of Equestria while back. Some stallion wants you to help find the saddle he intended to give his wife as a present for 'Hearts & Hooves Day.' Seems to carry with it a few odd connotations...

For One: I'm no expert in horse care, and no doubt the show writers wouldn't think much beyond it being just something that counts as a horse's gear, buuut... I'm pretty sure a saddle has to be leather. Quite certain there are screenshots taken of some mare's fancy dress that seems to incorporate a sort of cloth saddle as part of it for some reason. But if its a part of casual wear intended to sit out & away from the main body of the attire, then surely it must be of strong material in order to hold its form.  Aaand there's the even more curious question of where a nation of horses gets a supply of leather.... leather is supposed to be treated skin....

Point Two: A saddle is intended as a seat. Why bother having a cloth section of a dress shaped like a chair to fit humanoid riders that clearly don't exist in this world? It would be like having an armchair-shaped top hat! So either its meaningless design having somehow sprung out of the creative ether ... or there are articles of the design made for the express purpose of allowing a rider... when the only potential rider is another pony...

So my question arises twofold: Are saddles a thing in Equestria? And, if so, what possible use are they for?

Sure, fashion can be inexplicable and weird, but weird fashion tends not to stick around. Sure, it could be used for "personal experiences" but the relation from wearer to rider would be far too off to implicate anything... I mean, collars, bits & reigns I can see being just the same as any other accessory, but a saddle covers almost the entirety of the back. A saddle is utility & function and would hardly be comfortable enough for piggyback rides.

• Brohoof 1