Banner by ~ Ice Princess Silky

Engineers, anyone?

Null_user

Hey there!

Just curious how many engineers bronies are out there! A bit about myself: I'm currently a sophomore at Purdue University, studying aeronautical engineering. I'd like to work for either a general or defense aviation company someday, possibly as a test engineer or airframe designer.

If you're studying to become an engineer or already work in the field, tell me a bit about you! Any advice, stories, or just about anything about the field you'd like to share? I'd sure love to hear it!

• Brohoof 4

Injection molding, eh? That reminds me of the 3D printing software we have for my department. It's not injection-based; rather, it prints layer by layer of microscopically thin material to build a solid object of pretty much any shape. Some cool examples of this can be seen with custom phone cases (I've seen one with working gears in the back of it!) and even lego pieces. If you have an idea for a cool piece in mind, say, all you need are the dimensions in some sort of CAD program and voila!

Thanks for sharing and props to your pop!

img-1714947-1-engineer-tf2-freddre.jpg

...oh, those engineers.

Right now I'm going to college at New England Institute of Technology and majoring in network engineering. I don't have my degree yet, but I may or may not go for a bachelor's. I kinda have a feeling I might not be able to get a job as easily as others due to a long history of injuries to my right arm :|

Edited by Daring
  • Brohoof 1

I would call myself a software engineer since I know QBasic, but that'd be the overstatement of the century I think. Considering QBasic is an ancient, and probably considered obsolete language by now.

• Brohoof 1

@Daring, Nice! Go for it man, if that's what you really want to do! A good employer *should* hire you for your skills, not your lack of limitations.