Banner by ~ Ice Princess Silky

Seaweed-Headed Dragon

<================== How do I create a digital version of my OC? I mean, I did draw it but I would like to make a digital version too :P

What software and  hardware do I need? I will get a graphic tablet but in a couple months

How do you guys make your digital art?

(I am really new to this XD)

<================== How do I create a digital version of my OC? I mean, I did draw it but I would like to make a digital version too :P

What software and  hardware do I need? I will get a graphic tablet but in a couple months

How do you guys make your digital art?

(I am really new to this XD)

Programs:

Gimp 2.8

Photoshop

Paint tool sai

Will you need a tablet?

Yes, if you plan to digitally draw or paint your work

No, if you do vectors only

well, since you already got a tablet coming your way, you only need some software.

now i'm no artist, but i know quite a few people use artrage. also, i heared paint.net is a good program to use (and it's free too!) 

but yeah, i'm no artist, so those are the only programs i really know of.

also, you could use photoshop. 

I'll tell you.

You can use vector or brush. There are many art programs one can use to convert traditional to digital.

1: Scan or photo the art.

2: Upload to an art program (Sai, Adobe Illustrator/Photoshop, Gimp, etc.)

3: Trace using lines or brush. (Using lines or the pen tool as in Illustrator and Photoshop is preferable with a mouse in my opinion.)

4: Color it

5: Save it.

This is what I usually do, you can also go to Youtube and find much, much more detailed guides.

Edit: Tablets are very useful in doing digital art, unless you can perform magic with a mouse.

Edited by Demirari

Photoshop, Gimp, Paint Tool Sai would probably work well but if you want to vectorise it you could always use Inkscape, Ponyscape or Illustrator. Photoshop isn't really designed well to vector properly. Good luck.