Banner by ~ Ice Princess Silky

I attempt to draw pony stuff

Applejohn

Well, this is something i just tryied today. Some weeks ago i was very impressed about a drawing i saw where the hair of a pony was incredibly detailed and it seemed so real that i just couldn't get it out of my head.

I tryed and tried to make it in a drawing app i have in my ipad but it was impossible for me to draw it and make it look like actual hair.

Today in school i came up with the idea that it might work if i practice a bit, so i started drawing in a piece of paper and at the end... guess what.... It looked like hair!! Apparently the trick was to make smooth lines, really smooth lines going in a same or similar direction, which was really hard to do in the app. So... yeah, here are the results. Don't be strong on the judging, i haven't perfected my style and stuff. Anyway, here it is: :)

post-19995-0-62518400-1409105435_thumb.jpg

post-19995-0-31985900-1409105451_thumb.jpg

Be sure to leave ideas and tips for making better hair! :smug:

Edited by Applejohn
  • Brohoof 12

Looks pretty good! I've never been good at drawing realistic looking hair, but one good tip that helps me is if I need to draw a certain style, I just look at pictures of hairstyles on humans and then draw them. You could probably do the same for ponies, if you aren't already doing that.

References, man. They really are everything.

References, man. They really are everything.

They surely are :lol: the first picture started from me drawing the hair of a friend that was standing besides me XD

In the second one i was trying to make hair without a reference.

But clearly the one from th reference went out a lot better so i will use them until i get better. :) thanks

Actually, this is well done. I'd just recommend you not to make a single part of the body stand out too much (in this case the hair) because then the rest would pale in comparison. Other than that, keep it up :)