Banner by ~ Ice Princess Silky

Ponyville Theme - My Little Pony: Roar of Thunderdoom (Fictional RPG Video Game)

PonyFunk

This is part of a video game music project I've thought about doing for a while. It's part of an idea for a My Little Pony fan-made rpg video game called My Little Pony: Roar of Thunderdoom, in which a villain named Thunderdoom with incredible magic powers attempts to take over Equestria a second time (the first time was eons ago when Equestria was new). It's undoubtedly the Mane 6's greatest challenge yet, and will take all the strength and power of friendship they need.

This is the theme that would play while in Ponyville. While in other towns across Equestria, I thought they could have the same melody but with a unique music style to each.

I am by no means a professional musician. In fact, this project is just a way for me to work on writing video game music. Any help, advice, and critiques are greatly appreciated.

It sounds a little to similar to many other songs that follow this progression. 

I-V-V-I-I-I7-IV-Io7-I(2nd inversion)-V7-I

For information about these symbols and making unique progressions, read this thread here: https://mlpforums.com/topic/136619-chords-progressions-modulations-a-guide-to-composing-music/

This progression is found in many simple children's songs such as "If You're Happy and You Know It)

In terms of your percussion line, it could be varied slighty. I see you're in 3/4 so that time sig has some potential for some good fill-ins and change-ups. For the percussion, you don't always have to keep that cabasa moving. It gets repetative and stale. Here are some beat suggestions for it:

1-2&3 | 1-2-3 | *-2-3

The "|" represent measures of music.

You can also leave out the cabasa entirely so that way you can have a more mellow and sweet waltz tone to the song. Right now, with the cabasa, wood blocks and claves, it's got that latin-waltz type of feel to it.