Banner by ~ Ice Princess Silky

I'm Looking To Start Playing MMORPG's, Anyone Have Advice For Beginners?

OmegaBeamOfficial

Hiya! So, I never really used to get into MMO's in my younger years because I always found them so confusing and hard to navigate, but I think I'm at a period in my life where I can try to wrap my head around it, and after having a small look into the various games people are playing, I've really wanted to start playing them, although it was actually mainly SAO that kinda sold me on the concept. But the problem is I don't know how to ease into the genre, and there's also the difficulty of higher level more experienced players making fun of me for being a noob, I don't wanna be put in that embarrassing position. I'm thinking of starting off with Neverwinter, mainly because It's free to play so I can afford it, what with most MMO's having high prices, and some even having monthly paid subscriptions, combined with me having to console game because I won't have a good gaming PC for a while yet, my choices are limited, any recommendations could also be helpful though. So any fellow bronies here have some good advice for beginners?

(edited)

My advice is to not bother the higher level players asking for advice. That tends to annoy them pretty easily. Sometimes you'll get lucky and stumble upon a higher level player who is bored and will take you "under their wing" so to speak. Otherwise, I would suggest getting to lvl cap as soon as possible.

I have only played 2 MMOs in my life, Dragon Ball Online (about 5,000 hours+) and Tera(around 800-1,000 hours), so I am not an authority on everything MMO related. But within those games, especially the former of which, I can tell you that the best thing to do is become self sufficient. Focus on making friends and stuff AFTER you have become competent. Don't bother with joining guilds until you reach level cap; otherwise you are seen as a liability instead of a welcome member.