Banner by ~ Ice Princess Silky

Job Applications

Bluish

Getting hired as a 16 year old isn’t easy, I’ve applied for at least 6 jobs and all have turned away. Sucks since I have 4 years of work experience, shouldn’t that make my resume look more appealing? I get dressed real nice, take a shower n put on my favorite cologne but I guess I can never wow the employer. What should I do?

• Brohoof 1

I feel for you. Since December of last year I had been applying to try to find another job to get out of my toxic work place. I have 7 years of manufacturing experience on complex machinery and I even had an engineer help me fix up my resume. I put in for jobs I was overly qualified for and I would have taken a severe pay cut and nobody got back to me. I didn’t get hired for a new job until May. From December to May of this year I was applying like crazy. So I feel your pain. It’s hard finding jobs right now.

The one thing I changed was my resume. Not sure if you use tiktok but there’s a very basic looking black and white resume format people are really saying you should be using. If you search basic black and white resumes you’ll see what they look like. Mine used to be fancy looking but apparently employers don’t like that lol. The basic ones are so when somebody looks at it they can be done reading it fast. The engineer I talked to actually interviews people and she even told me she doesn’t bother to look at resumes that aren’t straight to the point. The job I have now is the first job that I put in for with my new looking resume and I got called for an interview. 

The second thing is I have people do practice interviews with me. So for this job I have now I had 3 practice interviews beforehand with other people before my actual interview. I also really recommend either looking up interview help TikTok’s or YouTube videos. I say this because how I thought I should answer some questions was actually wrong.