Banner by ~ Ice Princess Silky

Why is Spike considered a "main character"?

FlareGun45

I've been speculating Spike for many years, sometimes I'm right, sometimes I'm wrong - mostly wrong, and alot ain't even answered yet! But there is one thing about Spike that I just don't understand the most! It's not the origins, it's not Sparity, it might have something to do with his destiny but I'm not sure; none of those, it's this: why is Spike considered a "main character" by the staff?

He's done alot in the show, but I wouldn't consider them "main character-worthy", more like in the same spot as Starlight, the Student 6, and Discord, only difference is, he hasn't had a heroic role in a finale yet. The staff may call him that, but how are they gonna PROVE it? Appearing with the Mane 6 all the time doesn't answer the question, and it's not even all the time - sometimes Starlight's with them or Discord, and both did the same amount of saving and support as Spike did. So why aren't THEY main characters? Why isn't Spike considered a supporting character instead? He coulda been in Starlight's group in the season 6 finale and avoid this whole speculation - the staff coulda just said 6 main characters, it was always the Mane SIX, only Mane 7 in Equestria Girls! But they didn't, and that's so weird!

I can't be the only one that sees this. Something's obviously coming for Spike - we just dunno what it is, and the show's just misleading us with his supporting roles. Hell, in the season 9 promos, Spike's in front of the entire group now right in front of the screen! Episode 200 is dedicated to the "5 VAs that brought us this far", four are Tara, Tabitha, Andrea, and Asheligh, and the fifth is Cathy!

I know most of you aren't gonna believe me, but something doesn't add up with him! Only I seem to see it! To me: what makes a main character is how involved they are in the story - not just appearances, and his involvement ties with Starlight and Discord.

Edited by FlareGun45