Banner by ~ Ice Princess Silky

Spooky Story Time

Twilight Sparkle

Hey, everypony. Time to share out spooky stories to get in the mood for NightMare Night. It can be the olden pony, the pony of shadows or even just something you put together yourself. Make sure to have fun and get in the spirit. Dont forget to give out all that candy to appease NightMare Moon oh and make sure to scare your friends with the spooky award. 

Image result for Twilight Sparkle Nightmare night

• Brohoof 3

Gather round young fillies and colts, while I tell you a story. A true story, or at least it is true that it is a story...

My maternal grandfather was a turbine engineer by profession. In England during World War II, he had worked in a factory training and supervising women to assemble detonators for bombs and the like. This is where he met my grandmother, who had taken a liking to him and pelted him with springs from said detonators until he asked her out, and eventually married her. Knowing my grandmother she was still throwing springs at him right up until the ceremony. And possibly years later.

After the war ended, he, his wife, and their young daughter (my mother) immigrated to Canada where he worked on the giant generators on Niagara Falls, as well as other projects of that ilk.

One day a friend of his, a British merchant marine he had met during the war, came to him with a problem. The ship he was serving on as a mechanic was without power, stuck in one of the Welland Canal Locks near St. Catharines. Something had gone wrong with the engines, and they would not turn.

My grandfather came to the rescue, and solved the problem. The massive ship was moving once more, and the grateful captain gave my grandfather the ship's wheel as a trophy for his deeds. Not entirely sure what to do with it, my grandfather mounted it on the wall in the family room behind his chair and effectively forgot about it.